28 legislators attend first Climate Caucus meeting of 2017

On January 12th, the first Climate Caucus meeting of the 2017 Vermont legislative session took place, and the turnout was the highest it’s been since the Climate Caucus began in 2012. EIV supporters and activists pressured legislators to attend the Caucus, emailing dozens of lawmakers in the days leading up to the first meeting. Twenty four state representatives and four state Senators attended the meeting, during which legislators began the discussion of how the Vermont legislature can take action on climate change this session. Sen. Dick McCormack and Rep. Mary Sullivan were been elected as VT Climate Caucus co-chairs for 2017-18, taking over for Sen. Chris Pearson and Rep. Mary Hooper.

The 28 lawmakers listed below attended the first meeting of the Caucus. If your elected officials are on the list — please thank them for their leadership. If they’re not, please ask them to join the next Climate Caucus meeting — meetings take place every Thursday at 12 noon in Room 10 of the State House. This tool can help: www.energyindependentvt.org/join-climate-caucus

Rep. John Bartholomew – Hartland
Rep. Susan Buckholz – White River Jct.
Rep. Mollie S. Burke  – Brattleboro
Rep. Robin Chesnut-Tangerman – Middletown Springs
Rep. Brian Chia Cina – Burlington
Rep. Selene Colburn – Burlington
Rep. Betsy Dunn – Essex Jct.
Rep. John M. Gannon – Wilmington
Rep. Diana Gonzalez – Winooski
Rep. Sandy Haas – Rochester
Rep. Mary Hooper– Montpelier
Rep. Kimberly Jessup– Middlesex
Rep. Charlie Kimbell  – Woodstock
Sen. Mark MacDonald – Orange County
Rep. Jim Masland– Thetford
Sen. Dick McCormack– Windsor County
Sen. Alice Nitka– Windsor County
Rep. Jean O’Sullivan – Burlington
Sen. Chris Pearson – Chittenden County
Rep. Brian Smith – Derby
Rep. Valerie Stuart – Brattleboro
Rep. Mary Sullivan – Burlington
Rep. Matthew Trieber – Bellows Falls
Rep. Trevor J Squirrell – Underhill Center
Rep. Cynthia Humiston Weed– Enosburg Falls
Rep. Kate Webb – Shelburne
Rep. Dave Yacovone – Morrisville
Rep. Michael Yantachka – Charlotte